The National Deputy Chairman of APC for the South and the former Governor of Ekiti State, Asiwaju Segun Oni, will be contesting the 2018 governorship election in Ekiti State.
Oni announced this to newsmen at a gathering in Ado-Ekiti, the Ekiti State capital.Segun Oni also said the APC in Ekiti State remains one. The APC leader also entertained questions on the state of the economy.
He said Nigerians should learn to interrogate issues as they are.
Segun Oni was the governor of Ekiti state between May 29, 2007 till October 2010 when he was sacked by Justice Isa Ayo Salami led court of appeal.
Segun Oni suffered the persecution of some high ranking officials of the PDP during the tenure of ex-president Goodluck Jonathan before he decamped to the APC in the wake of ex-governor Kayode Fayemi’s second term bid before he was given the slot of the National Deputy Chairman of APC for the South.
Asiwaju Segun Oni’s declaration is laying to rest, months of speculation about his willingness to take another shot at the number one seat in Ekiti state. This will however heighten tempo of the guber race as scheming will now get intense. Segun Oni to some people is viewed as the only credible candidate that can face the candidate of the incumbent governor Ayodele Fayose.
One of the odds that may play against Segun Oni howevr is the fact that he hails from Ekiti North senatorial district which produced him and ex-governor Kayode Fayemi as governor of the state at one time. Ekiti central also had its own share with former governor Niyi Adebayo and Incumbent Ayodele Fayose. Ekiti south senatorial district however is yet to produce any governor in the history of the state and much clamour is coming from the district that 2018 should be their turn since governor Ayo Fayose will be spending just one term.
The list of APC guber aspirants  warming up to succeed governor Fayose in October 15, 2018.
There’s also an indication that the man who ousted Segun Oni in 2007 and now the minister for Solid Minerals, Dr. Kayode Fayemi.
As at now, over 30 candidates in APC listed below are interested in the party ticket:
1. Hon. Olufemi Bamisile
2. Dr. Adebayo Orire
 3. Hon. Bimbo Daramola
4. Hon. Bamidele Faparusi
5. Senator Gbenga Aluko
 6. Senator Babafemi Ojudu
 7. Senator Ayo Arise
8. Hon. Debo Ranti
9. Hon. Opeyemi Bamidele (MOB)
10. Otunba Yinka Akerele
11. Dr. Femi Thomas
 12. Engr. Segun Oni
13. Chief Sesan Fatoba
14. Dr. Oluwole Oluyede
15. Mr. Yemi Adaramodu
 16. Hon. Funminiyi Afuye
17. Hon. Bayo Idowu
18. Otunba Bisi Aloba
19. Chief Dele Okeya
20. Mr. Bodunde Adeyanju
21. Mr. Kayode Adaramodu
 22. Mr. Olajide Akinyemi Junior
23. Captain Sunday Adebomi
 24. Mr. Bayo Babalotin
25. Mr. Muyiwa Olumilua
 26. Mr. Kola Alabi
27. Mr. Kola Adu
28. Mr Kole Ajayi
29. Hon. Diran Adesua
 30. Mr. Kayode Oladipupo
31. Mr. Ishola Fapounda
32. Dr. Makanjuola Akindele
33. Barrister Temitope Adebayo
34. Dr. Owolabi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *