Another PDP lawmaker defects to APC in Lagos Assembly

Another Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) member in the Lagos State House of Assembly, Honourable Victor Akande representing Ojo constituency I, on Monday defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Akande informed the House of his defection on the floor of the Assembly through a letter he addressed to the Speaker, Honourable Mudashiru Obasa, which was read by Mr. Azeez Sanni, the Clerk of the Assembly.

Akande, in his letter, said he was defecting because of the factions in the PDP, which he said were not just two but four, especially in Lagos State.

“My defection is to further continue my support of adding legislative excellence to Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode and the political leadership of the Speaker of the Assembly, who has impacted on legislative standards in the state.

“PDP has fallen apart and the centre can no longer hold, so I have chosen to follow the stable APC. I thank PDP for giving me the political platform to showcase myself.Honourable Victor Akande - Another PDP lawmaker defects to APC in Lagos Assembly

“I also thank my constituents and traditional rulers in my constituency for their support. I will continue to give them better representation and for me, this is a home coming,’’ Akande said.

Commenting on the letter, Akande said he moved to APC with the blessings of his people from the Ojo Constituency I, including the royal fathers and all indigenes and non indigenes of the constituency.

“I consulted widely before arriving at the decision to dump PDP for APC. I hereby shed the garb of PDP and I want to now be clothed with the APC garb,’’ Akande said.

Akande’s counterpart from the Ojo Constituency II, Mr Olanrewaju Ogunyemi, said, “Akande has made our day in Ojo with this defection. “Actually, there is nothing more for him to do in the PDP than to move to the moving train of the APC.’’

The Speaker of the House, Mr Mudashiru Obasa, congratulated his colleagues for their good work, which he said, made all the defections possible.

Obasa also thanked Akande for coming on board the APC.

He said: “We know you are a man of integrity and we are sure that image will reflect in our party,’’ Obasa said.

With the latest defection, the sole opposition lawmaker in the Assembly is Honourable Dipo Olorunrinu, representing Amuwo-Odofin Constituency I as six out of the eight PDP lawmakers in the Assembly had defected to APC on February 16 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *