Sikiru Olatunbosun misses out of WAFU Eagles

The Super Eagles Chief Coach, Salisu Yusuf this afternoon released the list of the players that will prosecute the West Africa regional competition and MFM prolific striker, Sikiru Olatunbisun’s name was conspicuous missing in the 17 man list.

The list which led by the Super Eagkes goalkeeper, Ikechukwu Ezenwa included the joint NPFL leading  scorer, Anthony Okpotu, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Chima Akas, Peter Eneji and a host of others.

Apart from been part of the NPFL Stars that travelled to Spain last year, Sikiru Olatunbosun has always been part of the home based Super Eagles and even traveled to France with the main Super Eagkes for friendly matches before the game against the South Africa recently.

Sikiru was the winner of the CNN Goal of the week earlier this year and he combined very well with Onuwa and Odey to earn MFM Champions League ticket this season. Incidentally, no player in MFM is considered good enough to make the trip to Ghana.

Another player who’s missing from the squad released by Coach Salisu is injured Mfon Udoh.

The WAFU Eagles full squad who will be  leaving Nigeria for Ghana tomorrow are;


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)


Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Emmanuel Ariwachukwu (Akwa United); Chima Akas (Enyimba FC); Osas Okoro (Rangers International); Adeleye Olamilekan (FC IfeanyiUbah); Daniel James (Plateau United)


Afeez Aremu (Akwa United); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Samuel Mathias (El-Kanemi Warriors); Destiny Ashadi (Katsina United)


Gabriel Okechukwu (Akwa United); Kingsley Eduwo (Lobi Stars); Peter Eneji (Plateau United); Ubong Friday (Akwa United); Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *