10 Years After Demise – Yemi Tella Football Competition Kicks Off in Lagos

In remembrance of the late coach of the Nigeria U-17 National team, Coach Yemi Tella, Ikeja Divisional Football Association has named an U-17 Competition after him.

According to the Divisional FA Chairman, Evangelist Rauf Taiwo, the competition is supported by some of the players that were coached by the veteran coach in his life time, while the coveted trophy to be competed for was donated by Joseph Dosu, an ex-international.

He encouraged the participating coaches in the tournament to be disciplined. as Coach Yemi Tella was noted for having zero tolerance for indiscipline in his lifetime.

Mrs Modupe Tella, the widow of the late coach thanked the Chairman and the entire board member of Ikeja Divisional FA for their effort in immortalizing her late husband. The retired civil servant also shower words of praises on the former and incumbent Governors of Lagos State, Babatunde Raji Fashola and Akinwun mi Ambode for their supports for the family since the demise of her husband.

Yemi Tella was the coach of the Nigerian football team that won the 2007 FIFA U-17 World Cup. He was awarded the title of 2007 African coach of the year.

IMG 20171016 144233 - 10 Years After Demise - Yemi Tella Football Competition Kicks Off in Lagos
The widow of Coach Yemi Tella, Mrs. Modupe Tella was flanked by Coach Kola Adebayo and Ikefa DFA Chairman, Coach Rauf Taiwo

Tella, a former lecturer at the National Institute for Sports in Lagos, had been diagnosed with cancer of the lungs when he led his team to a pre-World Cup eight-nation tournament in South Korea in June 2007.

A month before his death, he was awarded the Member of the Order of the Federal Republic medal – an important honour – for his achievement, by the Nigerian president Umaru Yar’Adua.

Tella spent the last two weeks of his life at the Lagos State Teaching Hospital. He died on 20 October 2007, aged 56.

Total number of 34 teams will participate in the inaugural edition of Tella Cup among which are; MFM R70, MIDAS FA, Sparrow Feeders, Cosmos FA, Inspiration FA, Glory FA, De Royal FA, Power Rangers, Osomo FC etc.

According to the Secretary of the Division, Mr. Alaba Olaniyi, the competition kicks off 28th October, 2017 while screening and draws has been schedule for Saturday, 21st October, 2017 at Agege Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *