Ezenwa is Number One as Super Eagles Players get new Jersey Number

The only home based member of the Super Eagles to the Russia 2018 has been assigned jersey number 1 the 23 players selected for the tournament have been appointed their numbers for the World Cup with some major changes to their previous appearance.

The Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) official Instagram account posted a short video clip of the players new numbers for the tournament.

Skipper of the team Mikel Obi retains his number 10, Ogenyi Onazi, the vice captain, number 17, while the former captain Ahmed Musa retained number 7. Odion Ighalo kept his number 9 jersey, Victor Moses was handed number 11 while William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun got number 5 and 6 respectively.

Major changes involve Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi who was handed the legendary number 4 shirt worn by Kanu Nwankwo and was previously worn by Kenneth Omeruo who was given the number 22 shirt.

Left back Brian Idowu takes the number two shirt which all but confirms his position as the first choice in his position, while Ogehnekaro Etebo was handed the number eight shirt.

The team is currently in Austria preparing for the World Cup and the new numbers will be worn by the players when they take on the Czech republic in their last international friendly before the tournament on Wednesday, June 6.

The Full Squad and their new jersey numbers:

23 – Francis Uzoho

16 – Daniel Akpeyi

1 – Ikechukwu Ezenwa

5 – William Troost-Ekong

6 – Leon Balogun

12 – Shehu Abdullahi

2 – Bryan Idowu

21 – Tyronne Ebuehi

20 – Chidozie Awaziem

22 – Kenneth Omeruo

3 – Elderson Echiejile

17 – Ogenyi Onazi

4 – Wilfred Ndidi

19 – John Ogu

15 – Joel Obi

10 – John Mikel Obi

8 – Oghenekaro Etebo

18 – Alex Iwobi

14 – Kelechi Iheanacho

9 – Odion Ighalo

13 – Simeon Nwankwo

7 – Ahmed Musa

11 – Victor Moses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *